2013 Green Card Lottery – Diversity Visa

No lawyer needed for Diversity Visa!

Each year the Department of State makes available 50,000 immigrant visas to qualified applicants from certain countries by way of a lottery through online registration. Visas are allocated to nationals of countries with historically lower rates of U.S. immigration. Nationals of countries who have sent more than 50,000 immigrants to the United States over the past five years are not eligible to apply for the Diversity Visa program.

For DV-2013, natives of the following countries are not eligible to apply because the countries sent a total of more than 50,000 immigrants to the United States in the previous five years:  BANGLADESH, BRAZIL, CANADA, CHINA (mainland-born), COLOMBIA, DOMINICAN REPUBLIC, ECUADOR, EL SALVADOR, GUATEMALA, HAITI, INDIA, JAMAICA, MEXICO, PAKISTAN, PERU, PHILIPPINES, SOUTH KOREA, UNITED KINGDOM (except Northern Ireland) and its dependent territories, and VIETNAM.

The online registration period for the 2013 Diversity Visa Program (DV-2013) will begin on Tuesday, October 4, 2011, at noon, Eastern Daylight Time (EDT), and conclude on Saturday, November 5, 2011, at noon, Eastern Daylight Time (EDT). DV-2013 Instructions are available in English in PDF format at: DV-2013 Lottery Instructions. Diversity Visa Program Information is available at: Diversity Visa Program.

The important thing to note is that YOU DO NOT NEED A LAWYER TO REGISTER AND YOU DO NOT NEED TO PAY ANYONE TO SUBMIT THE APPLICATION FOR YOU. The instructions are simple and straightforward. This is one green card application that you can safely do yourself!!

Article categories: General Immigration

About the Author